World is not a scary place, we see the world through scared eyes!

I recently went for an entrance examination. The center was a college on the outskirts of my city. I had never visited the college before, neither I knew the way. Somehow I reached the venue but found that the place was so deserted. I stepped out of my car to search for a watchman whom I found sitting across the closed gate at a distance. I asked him if the examination was to be held in the same college. While I was questioning him a taxi arrived and a girl stepped out. Not paying much attention to her I continued listening to the watchman who was explaining the way to the second gate of college. The girl asked the watchman the same question and the watchman, rather than explaining the same way again asked me to tell her. I observed that the girl was not a Punjabi. She looked different and spoke in a different accent. I felt like helping her as she was unknown to the place. I offered her a lift till the second gate which was at a five minutes distance. The girl accepted my offer and asked me to wait in my car. In the mean time she went back to her taxi to pay the driver.

The moment I sat in my car, some thoughts started haunting me. I thought she might rob me, She might hurt me and this is going to sound funny but I thought she might kidnap me. The good side of me had offered her help but the perceptions which we have made about society were making me regret my decision. What followed next was something so contrary to my expectations. She sat in my car. I was so scared and without uttering a single word I started driving. I felt so relieved when we reached the other gate and saw some crowd outside. Then I talked to her and I realized how sweet she was. She was as ordinary as me and you and she was so grateful to me for helping her.

After she left, I felt so bad for making those ill perceptions about her. She was such a pure soul, impure were my thoughts. Today we have become slaves to media. If a news or program shows story of a robber, we start seeing that robber in every unknown person but the truth is that Murderers, robbers, kidnappers, rapists do exist but not in every second person you see. World is not a scary place, we see the world through scared eyes. Think before you make perceptions about someone. Be helpful for your help may make someone’s day and avoid those ill perceptions as they may spoil someone’s day.

Leave a Reply

